It’s been my privilege to collaborate with and advise these students:

As PhD chair

  • Daniel Hasty. PhD 2012. This Might Could Help Us Better Understand Syntactic Variation: The Double Modal Construction in Tennessee English. Daniel combined corpus and matched guise technique methods to investigate the use of and attitudes toward double modals such as might could and may can. He is currently Associate Professor of Linguistics at Coastal Carolina University, South Carolina.
  • Ashley Hesson. PhD 2014. Medically Speaking: Co-variation as Stylistic Clustering Within Physician Recommendations. Ashley simultaneously earned her MD at Michigan State, and she is currently a maternal fetal medicine fellow at the University of Michigan.
  • Monica Nesbitt. PhD 2019. Changing Their Minds: The Impact of Internal Social change on Local Phonology. Monica is a post-doctoral fellow at Dartmouth College until fall 2021, when she will be an Assistant Professor in the Linguistics department at Indiana University.
  • Matt Savage. PhD in progress. Testing the Social Indexicality of Vowels Resynthesized from Different Source Dialects. Matt is testing the validity of employing resynthesized vowels in matched guise tests of language attitudes, using the Northern Cities Shift and the Low Back Merger Shift (‘Third Dialect’) as case studies. He is currently working as a data analyst at DePaul University, Chicago.
  • Yongqing Ye. PhD in progress.
  • Mingzhe Zheng. PhD 2018. To Be Assimilated and More Like White: A Sociolinguistic Study of Chinese-Americans in the “Asian city” of Southeast Michigan. A former post-doctoral Fellow in Chinese at Earlham College, Indiana, Mingzhe will be a Lecturer in Chinese at University of California Berkeley starting in fall 2019.

As PhD co-chair

  • Xiayiamaierdan Abudushalamu. PhD in progress. (with Brian Buccola). Shy is interested in vowel harmony in Uyghur, and in game-theoretic and sociolinguistic approaches to Uyghur-Mandarin code-switching in media contexts.
  • Mohammed Ruthan. PhD 2020. (with Yen-Hwei Lin). Aspects of Jazani Arabic. Mohammed is returning to Saudi Arabia to take up a university teaching position.
  • Xiaomei Wang. PhD 2019. (with Yen-Hwei Lin). Variation and Change in Tianjin Tone Sandhi. Xiaomei is an instructor of Chinese at Grand Valley State University.
  • Irina Zaykovskaya. PhD 2019. (with Susan Gass). Perceptions of Vernacular US English LIKE by Native and Non-native English-speaking Young Adults in Michigan. From fall 2020, Irina is a member of the World Languages Faculty at the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy.

As MA chair or co-chair

  • Lubna Aljuboori. MA 2009, by exam.
  • Kirsten Bakken. MA 2008, by exam.
  • Carli Hearn-Willard. MA 2020, by exam.
  • Alexander Mason. MA 2016, by exam.
  • Morgan Momberg. MA 2020, by exam.
  • Chun-Yi Peng. MA 2011. The Placement of the Prepositional Dative in Mandarin Varieties. Chun-Yi then got his PhD in Linguistics at CUNY Graduate Center, where he is now an associate professor of Chinese. He maintains a research program in Chinese language variation, media and language ideology.
  • Rebecca Senn. MA 2020, by exam.

Other graduate student collaborators

  • Kali Morris (née) Bybel. PhD 2018. Kali is a syntactician who wrote her dissertation on defaults. But she maintained an interest in sociolinguistic variation, writing a qualifying paper on a Twitter corpus study of participle leveling, and publishing two papers with me on corpus analyses of general extenders, including one in Language in Society (Wagner, Hesson, Bybel and Little 2012).
  • Sayako Uehara. PhD 2018. Saya is a phonologist whose dissertation addressed word segmentation cues. She also wrote a qualifying paper on the perception of vocalic outliers in sound change, which we expanded for an NWAV paper (Uehara and Wagner 2018). Saya is currently teaching Japanese at Notre Dame University.

Doctoral committees, by graduation year

  • forthcoming Shannon Cousins, Naiyan Du, Yunting Gu, Ho-Hsin Huang, Ye Ma, Monica Obiri-Yeboah, Elena Sheard (Australia National University).
  • 2020 Chenchen Xu.
  • 2019 Drew Trotter, Adam Gobeski
  • 2018 Kali Morris (Bybel), Qian Luo, Sayako Uehara
  • 2016 Joe Jalbert
  • 2015 Candice Scott (University of Michigan)
  • 2014 Greg Johnson
  • 2010 Mousa Qasem